Promotional Plan

Promotional Plan

During the promotional phase of the show I will utilize all social media platforms such as, Facebook, Youtube and Instagram to spread the word. I will incorporate hash-tagging on these services in order to find potential listeners by searching for terms that relate to the sort of performance. I am also planning to gradually release images and little promo teaser trailers, to simply build a sense of intrigue and anticipation for the show. Visual content is extremely important, especially within a genre like witch-house, and I feel you can say far more using visual aids than you can in words so, I plan to create a strong visual “brand” and aesthetic for my work. My stylistic choices are really going to need to reflect the music, as I feel it’s what’s going make it reach it’s correct audience.

Here are a couple of links of visual teasers I put up:

https://www.facebook.com/DimethoxySTP/videos/1831759660183063/

+

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2snwxTDRYk

From research I carried out I found that most artists that release this kind of experimental electronic music try and keep it “underground”, as it is very niche and has a small audience not intended for mass appeal. Especially in genres like witch-house it is normal for artists to keep their releases small and limited, often throwing some symbols, numbers or punctuation marks in the middle of titles for people to find it harder to come across. This is done with the intention of keeping their audience/fan-base small but dedicated. I intend to go along the same sort of lines, keeping the release small. On the more important social media posts, I plan to “sponsor” them, which entails paying money to further the reach of a post to targeted individuals with similar interests based on their profiles. This will allow me to reach a slightly larger audience.

Leave a Reply

